in ,

Oscar: Best International Feature Film. Here Are The Films Submitted So Far

Oscar: Best International Feature Film. Here Are The Films Submitted So Far

This 2020 Academy Awards is fast approaching and submissions have stated pouring in for different categories.One category that stands out is the Best International Feature Film previously know as Best Foreign Language Film. The category underwent a name change to better represent motion picture artists around the world.

Many films have been submitted so far and more will be pouring in as the weeks run by. Interesting, Nigeria’s very record-breaking blockbuster Lion Heart is among the Oscar nominees. The movie has once again made history by becoming the first film to represent Nigeria at the Oscars.

READ ALSO: Check out the List of 2019 Oscars’ Nominees

Here is a full list of the submissions for Best International Feature Film so far according to continent and country:

Latest submissions

Ireland: Gaza (Garry Keane, Andrew McConnell)

Saudi Arabia: The Perfect Candidate (Haifaa Al Mansour)


Albania: The Delegation (Bujar Alimani)

Armenia: Lengthy Night (Edgar Baghdasaryan)

Austria: Joy (Sudabeh Mortezai)

Belarus: Debut (Anastasiya Miroschnichenko)

Belgium: Our Mothers (César Díaz)

Bosnia and Herzegovina: The Son (Ines Tanović)

Bulgaria: Aga (Milko Lazarov)

Croatia: Mali (Antonio Nuić)

Czech Republic: The Painted Bird (Václav Marhoul)

Denmark: Queen Of Hearts (May el-Toukhy)

Estonia: Truth And Justice (Tanel Toom)

Finland: Stupid Young Heart (Selma Vihunen)

France: Les Misérables (Ladj Ly)

Georgia: Shindisi (Dito Tsintsadze)

Germany: System Crasher (Nora Fingscheidt)

Greece: When Tomatoes Met Vagner (Marianna Economou)

Hungary: Those Who Remained (Barnabás Tóth)

Iceland: A White, White Day (Hlynur Palmason)

Italy: The Traitor (Marco Bellocchio)

Kosovo: Zana (Antoneta Kastrati)

Latvia: The Mover (Davis Simanis)

Lithuania: Bridges Of Time (Kristine Briede, Audrius Stonys)

Luxembourg: Tel Aviv On Fire (Sameh Zoabi)

Montenegro: Neverending Past (Andro Martinovic)

Netherlands: Instinct (Halina Reijn)

North Macedonia: Honeyland (Tamara Kotevska, Ljubomir Stefanov)

Norway: Out Stealing Horses (Hans Petter Moland)

Poland: Corpus Christi (Jan Komasa)

Portugal: The Domain (Tiago Guedes)

Romania: The Whistlers (Corneliu Porumboiu)

Russia: Beanpole (Kantemir Balagov)

Serbia: King Peter Of Serbia (Petar Ristovshi)

Slovakia: Let There Be Light (Marko Skop)

Slovenia: History Of Love (Sonja Prosenc)

SpainPain And Glory (Pedro Almodóvar)

Sweden: And Then We Danced (Levan Akin)

Switzerland: Wolkenbruch’s Wondrous Journey Into The Arms Of A Shiksa (Michael Steiner)

Turkey: Commitment (Semih Kaplanoğlu)

Ukraine: Homeward (Nariman Aliev)


Afghanistan: Hava, Maryam, Ayesha (Sahraa Karimi)

Bangladesh: Alpha (Nasiruddin Yousuff)

Cambodia: In The Life Of Music (Caylee So, Sok Visal)

Hong Kong: The White Storm 2 – Drug Lords (Herman Yau)

India: Gully Boy (Zoya Akhtar)

Indonesia: Memories Of My Body (Garin Nugroho)

Iran: Finding Farideh (Kourosh Ataee, Azadeh Moussavi)

Israel: Incitement (Yaron Zilberman)

Japan: Weathering With You (Makoto Shinkai)

Kazakhstan: Kazakh Khanate – Golden Throne (Rustem Abdrashev)

Kyrgyzstan: Aurora (Bezkat Primatov)

Lebanon: 1982 (Oualid Mouaness)

Nepal: Bulbul (Binod Paudel)

Pakistan: Laal Kabootar (Kamal Khan)

Palestine: It Must Be Heaven (Elia Suleiman)

Philippines: Verdict (Raymund Ribay)

Singapore: A Land Imagined (Siew Hua Yeo)

South Korea: Parasite (Bong Joon-ho)

Taiwan: Dear Ex (Mag Hsu, Hsu Chi-yen)

Thailand: Krasue: Inhuman Kiss (Sitisiri Mongkolsiri)

Uzbekistan: Hot Bread (Umid Khamdamov)

Vietnam: Furie (Lê Văn Kiệt)


Lion Heart

Algeria: Papicha (Mounia Meddour)

Egypt: Poisonous Roses (Fawzi Saleh)

Ethiopia: Running Against The Wind (Jan Philipp Weyl)

Ghana: Azali (Kwanbena Gyansah)

Kenya: Subira (Ravneet Chadha)

Morocco: Adam (Maryam Touzani)

Nigeria: Lionheart (Genevieve Nnaji)

Senegal: Atlantics (Mati Diop)

South Africa: Knuckle City (Jahmil XT Qubeka)

Tunisia: Dear Son (Mohamed Ben Attia)

Uganda: Kony, Order From Above (Steve T. Ayeny)



Argentina: Heroic Losers (Sebastián Borensztein)

Bolivia: I Miss You (Rodrigo Bellott)

Brazil: The Invisible Life Of Eurídice Gusmão (Karim Aïnouz)

Canada: Antigone (Sophie Deraspe)

Chile: Spider (Andres Wood)

Colombia: Monos (Alejandro Landes)

Costa Rica: The Awakening Of The Ants (Antonella Sudasassi)

Cuba: A Translator (Rodrigo Barriuso, Sebastián Barriuso)

Dominican Republic: The Projectionist (José María Cabral)

Ecuador: The Longest Night (Gabriela Calvache)

Mexico: The Chambermaid (Lila Aviles)

Panama: Everybody Changes (Arturo Montenegro)

Peru: Retablo (Alvaro Delgado-Aparico)

Uruguay: The Moneychanger (Federico Veiroj)

Venezuela: Being Impossible (Patricia Ortega)


Australia: Buoyancy (Rodd Rathjen)


The list consist of fabulous productions from the industry’s power house and we hope our own Genevieve would win in her category. Thanks for reading.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *