in ,

Love Languages and How They Help Your Relationship

Have you heard of these 5 love languages? Which do you speak? FIND OUT BELOW

love languages

Have you ever heard of love languages before?

The whole concept of it is the doing of Gary Chapman, and his bestselling book The Five Love Languages. The book in its entirety acts as a guide for people to identify, understand and then speak using their partner’s “love languages”.

You should take the test if you have not. It can be found online.

 In a relationship, peoples’ styles of thinking are very different, so it would follow that what they need in a relationship could also be different. Therefore, it’s of great important to understand what your partner’s language is. Because if you don’t know that, it’s likely you’ll get it wrong even though it seems like you are doing all of the right things. And without wanting to or even meaning to, you might end up hurting each others’ feelings. Or, your actions might not be well received as they would be if you spoke their own language or a  language they understood. Understanding each other’s love languages is important and vital to building and maintaining a healthy relationship. But first, it’s important to have the said ‘building blocks’ in place. There needs to be love for each other, there needs to be trust, and also a desire to communicate with each other.

Love, Heart, I Love You, Valentine, Red

Here are the 5 love languages

  1. Words of Affirmation: This is simply, telling someone you love them, that you care about them.
  2. Acts of service: This is basically doing stuff for your partner that you know they will like. From taking the bin out to doing the dishes. Even cooking a meal, all these are acts of service.
  3. Receiving gifts: Gifts are very symbolic. It tells your partner that you are thinking about him or her.
  4. Quality time:  Yep, it’s about spending time with each other. Quality time which means giving your spouse your undivided attention. Talking and also listening.
  5. Physical touch: This can mean be anything from sex to just holding hands, to stroking someone’s hand, kissing. All of the above are expressions of love.

Discovering each other’s language and speaking it regularly is the best way to keeping love alive. In conclusion, it is important to remember that there are two parts of communication: one is talking and the other is listening. If you’re only there to talk and not listen, it’s not going to work at all. If the relationship is important to you, then try to understand that what is important to your partner should be just as important or even more important to you.


Get the best viral stories straight into your inbox!

Don't worry, we don't spam


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *